-Member Login


Job Postings

Let's Stay Connected

Find us on the popular social networks

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flicker

Pharmacia-ASPET Award for Experimental Therapeutics

SSA Awards Banner


Award Description

The Pharmacia ASPET Award in Experimental Therapeutics recognizes and stimulates outstanding research in pharmacology and experimental therapeutics, basic laboratory or clinical research that has had, or potentially will have, a major impact on the pharmacological treatment of disease. This award was originally established in 1969 as the ASPET Award for Experimental Therapeutics, but was renamed in 2002, when supported in perpetuity by an endowment from Pharmacia (now Pfizer).


The award is presented annually, at the award ceremony during the ASPET Annual Meeting. The award consists of:

  • A $2,500 honorarium
  • A commemorative plaque
  • Complimentary registration and travel expenses for the winner and spouse to attend the ASPET Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology

Nomination Criteria and Process

  • The candidate must be a member of ASPET.
  • The nomination must be made by a member of ASPET.
  • No candidate may be nominated for more than one major ASPET award in any given year.
  • The Award shall be made on the basis of published articles, manuscripts ready for publication, and a 1000-word summary.
  • Selection will be made by the ASPET Awards Committee, appointed by the President of ASPET.

Nomination Submission

Nominations must be submitted using the ASPET Awards Portal and shall consist of:

  • Letter of nomination with a 1000-word summary that describes the importance of the candidate’s work
  • Brief biographical summary of the candidate and his/her work (up to 300 words max)
  • Candidate's curriculum vitae and bibliography
  • Six published articles and/or manuscripts that have been accepted for publication that have direct bearing on this award. Each document should be provided as a separate PDF.

Nomination Deadline

Award nominations for the 2016 Pharmacia ASPET Award are due by Tuesday, September 15, 2015.

Award Recipients 

1969 John A. Oates
1970 Joseph R. Bertino
1971 Elliot S. Vesell
1972 Francois M. Abboud
1973 Dean T. Mason
1974 Leon I. Goldberg
1975 Mackenzie Walser
1976 Louis Lasagna
1977 Allan H. Conney
1978 Attallah Kappas
1979 Sydney Spector
1980 Sanford M. Rosenthal
1981 David G. Shand
1982 William H. Prusoff
1983 Marcus M. Reidenberg
1984 Sir James Black
1985 Louis Lemberger
1986 Alan C. Sartorelli
1987 Albrecht Fleckenstein
1988 Jean-Francois Borel
1989 Benedict R. Lucchesi
1990 Albert Sjoerdsma
1991 Theophile Godfraind


1992 James W. Fisher
1993 V. Craig Jordan
1994 Susan Band Horwitz
1995 Henry I. Yamamura
1996 Robert F. Furchgott
1997 Michael M. Gottesman
1998 Phil Skolnick
1999 Yung-Chi Cheng
2000 Salomon Z. Langer
2001 George Breese
2002 Darryle D. Schoepp
2003 William C. De Groat
2004 Philip Needleman
2005 Donald P. McDonnell
2006 John C. Lee
2007 P. Jeffrey Conn
2008 Jerry J. Buccafusco
2009 Kenneth A. Jacobson
2010 Garret A. FitzGerald
2011 Jan Balzarini
2012 Angela H. Brodie
2013 Richard R. Neubig
2014 Jürgen Wess
2015 L. Jackson Roberts

Last updated: July 29, 2015

Hot Links 

ASPET Annual Meeting at EB2016 


What is Pharmacology? 

2016 Renew Your Membership   

PharmTalk Blog