

# Template for Division Reports to Council (March 2017)

### Name of Division: Neuropharmacology Division

Status of Division Activities:

# A. Annual Meeting Programming and Events:

At **EB2017**, the Neuropharmacology Division will sponsor 3 Symposia and the NEU Divisional Programming. As per the award guidelines, one of the three symposia was organized by the 2016 recipient of the NEU Division Early Career Independent Investigator Award (R. Drenan). The Divisional Programming is once again focused on Postdoctoral Scientist Oral Session competition. All symposia are listed below.

1. Mechanistic Studies in Cholinergic Neurobiology: Focus on Nicotinic Acetylcholine Receptors. *Chair: Ryan M. Drenan - Northwestern Univ.* 

2. Therapeutic Prospectives for Cannabinoids: Beyond Marijuana and Pain. *Chairs: Harshini. Neelakantan - Univ. of Texas Medical Branch, Sara J. Ward - Temple Univ.* 

3. Developing Novel Therapeutic Strategies to Modulate K+/Cl- Cotransporter 2 (KCC2) Function. *Chairs: Paul A. Davies - Tufts Univ. School of Medicine, Tarek G. Deeb - Tufts Univ. School of Medicine* 

At **EB2017** <u>nine</u> Symposia will be <u>*Co-sponsored*</u> by Neuropharmacology Division

1. Behavioral Models of Age-related Cognitive Decline. *Chairs: Kevin Murnane - Mercer Univ., Jennifer Bizon - Univ. of Florida* 

2. Tools and Targets: Overcoming Challenges in Modern Drug Discovery. *Chairs: Don R. Mattison - Risk Sciences International, Craig Beeson - Medical Univ. of South Carolina* 

3. Cardiovascular Pathobiology of Inflammasomes. *Chairs: Yang Zhang - Univ. of Houston, Krishna M. Boini - Virginia Commonwealth Univ.* 

4. The CRISPR-Cas9 Revolution in Pharmacology. *Chairs: Karen Tonsfeldt - Univ. of California, San Diego, Lakshmi A. Devi - Mount Sinai Hospital* 

5. Game-Based Learning and Clinical Simulation for Pharmacology. Chairs: Mark J. Hernandez - Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine, Kelly M. Quesnelle - Western Michigan Univ. Homer Stryker M.D. Sch. of Med.

6. Julius Axelrod Symposium: Evolving Insights Regarding GPCRs: Compartmentation, Signaling and Clinical Utility. *Chairs: Paul A. Insel - Univ. of California, San Diego* 

7. Mushrooming Potential of Psychedelics as Therapeutics. *Chairs: William E. Fantegrossi - Univ. of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Roland Griffiths - Johns Hopkins Univ. Sch. of Med.* 

8. Quantitative Systems Pharmacology: Application to Cancer Drug Development and Personalized/Precision Medicine. *Chairs: Jessie L.S. Au - Optimum Therapeutics LLC, Inst. of Quantitative Systems Pharmacology, Univ. of Oklahoma, Taipei Med. Univ., The Ohio State Univ., Jerry S.H. Lee - National Cancer Institute* 

9. Science and Government: How to Make a Difference Through Advocacy. *Chair: Allyson C. Marshall - TKL Research, Inc., Naeem Patil - Vanderbilt Univ. Medical Ctr.* 

At **EB2017** the Neuropharmacology Division will again hold a postdoctoral competition and award an Early Career Independent Investigator Award.

At **EB2017** The Neuropharmacology Division will convene an Executive Committee Meeting and a Business Meeting as well as a Joint Mixer with the Behavioral Pharmacology Division.

<u>Neuropharmacology Division Executive Committee Meeting</u>: Monday, April 24, 2017 7:00 am – 8:15 am Hyatt Regency McCormick Place

<u>Neuropharmacology Division Business Meeting</u>: Tuesday, April 25, 2017 5:30 pm – 6:30 pm McCormick Place Convention Center <u>Behavioral Pharmacology and Neuropharmacology Divisions Joint Mixer</u> Tuesday, April 25, 2017 6:30 pm – 8:30 pm

### **B. Division Awards:**

#### EB2017:

Due to low interest at EB 2016, NEU Division did not offer premeeting travel awards for **EB2017**. Several winners of the EB 2016 awards did not claim their prize even after prompting.

The Neuropharmacology Graduate Student Best Abstract Awards and the Neuropharmacology Postdoctoral Scientist Awards at **EB2017** will be supported by division funds. There were 14 applicants for the postdoc competition and 17 applicants for the grad student competition. This is the largest turnout for both groups in recent memory. Consequently, NEU Division invited 10 postdoctoral fellows and 12 graduate students to compete at EB 2017. The division plans to award as follows for both competitions: one First Place winner from each group to receive \$750 & become a NEU Executive Committee member for one year; one Second Place winner for each group to receive \$250.

**To be announced at EB2017, please keep confidential**. The winner of the 2017 Division for Neuropharmacology Early Career Independent Investigator Award was selected. *Dr. Carrie Ferrario* - the Pharmacology Department at the University of Michigan was selected as the winner. Dr. Ferrario will receive: \$1000 travel award, free meeting registration to Experimental Biology, one year free membership to ASPET, and an invitation to submit a symposium proposal (with the help of a committee member as a mentor) for the **EB2018** meeting. She will also be asked to serve on the NEU Executive Committee.

# C. Nominations for Officers:

There is no change in NEU Division leadership since the last report (Oct. 2016). Chair-elect *John Traynor, PhD* and Secretary/Treasurer-elect *Styliani-Anna Tsirka, PhD* will begin their tenure on 6/30/2017. *Habibeh Khoshbouei, Ph.D.* is now the as Program Committee representative from NEU.

#### D. Non-ASPET meetings supported/sponsored by Division:

The Neuropharmacology Division hosted a social at the Society for Neuroscience (SFN) 2016 Annual meeting in Dan Diego. NEU division wishes to thank ASPET Council for offsetting the cost of the event through a \$2000 supplementary allocation. There were approximately 100 in attendance. NEU Division is planning to hold another mixer at SFN17 in Washington DC.

### E. Marketing and Communications Efforts:

Communications Officer, **Dr. Anil Kumar** continues to be responsible for updating the information on the NEU Division web page. The Division of Neuropharmacology regularly communicates with members regarding their achievements for publication in "The Pharmacologist". The information received from the members is forwarded to the Publication Office which then reviews the information and determines its suitability for publication. As described above, the NEU division will award Graduate students and Postdocs in the competitions at **EB2017**. The winners of those competitions and the winner of the 2017 Division for Neuropharmacology Early Career Independent Investigator Award will be submitted for publication in an upcoming addition of The Pharmacologist.

### F. Executive Committee Communications:

*Beverley Greenwood-Van Meerveld* (NEU President) and *Michael Wood* (NEU Secretary/Treasurer) continue to communicate via email and have included Chair-elect John Traynor, PhD and Secretary/Treasurer-elect Styliani-Anna Tsirka, PhD will on many of these emails.

# G. Upcoming Projects, Events, Ideas and Proposals:

# H. Other:

NEU Division again wishes to thank ASPET Council for offsetting the cost of NEU Division mixer at SFN 2017 through a \$2000 supplementary allocation.

#### Name of persons preparing report:

**Beverley Greenwood-Van Meerveld, Ph.D.** Chair, Neuropharmacology Division

Michael Wood, Ph.D. Secretary/Treasurer, Neuropharmacology Division Date of submission: Mar 1, 2017