



## **Division for Toxicology: Fall 2016 Newsletter**



#### Chair's Message

Dear Colleagues,

Greetings from the Toxicology Division! Autumn represents that special time of year for toxicologists: abstract submission season. The abstract submission deadline for the ASPET Annual Meeting at EB2017 in Chicago is November 17, 2016. This is an excellent meeting that provides an opportunity for students, postdocs, and established researchers to share new scientific research discoveries, to interact with colleagues, and to build new connections and collaborations. We look forward to continuing to serve our membership by offering three prestigious <u>career awards</u> at the ASPET Annual Meeting. There are <u>travel award</u> and <u>best presentation award</u> opportunities for students and postdocs, so please encourage your trainees to apply and attend the Annual Meeting. Please also be thinking about symposia ideas for 2018 as we plan our programming for the future. Finally, we hope you will flex your creativity by participating in our website banner image contest. Looking forward to seeing you all in Chicago!

Serrine S. Lau, Ph.D.



## Apply Now for ASPET's Best Presentation and Travel Awards

#### **Best Presentation Awards**

Best Presentation awards are offered for outstanding presentations by undergraduates, graduate students, and postdoctoral scientists attending the ASPET Annual Meeting at EB2017. First prize for graduate students and postdocs in the division for Toxicology best presentation award is \$500. For more information and to apply visit <a href="https://www.aspet.org/awards/best-presentation">www.aspet.org/awards/best-presentation</a>.

#### **Travel Awards**

Undergraduates, graduate students, and postdoctoral scientists are invited to apply for a travel award to help defray the costs of travel and housing to attend the ASPET Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology 2017. For more information and to apply, visit <a href="https://www.aspet.org/ASPET\_Travel\_Awards">www.aspet.org/ASPET\_Travel\_Awards</a>.

The winners of the EB2016 graduate student poster competition are:

### **Executive Committee**

Serrine Lau, Chair
Monica Valentovic, Chair-Elect
Gary Rankin, Past Chair
Alison Harrill, Secretary/Treasurer
Qin Chen, Sec/Treasurer-Elect
Lauren Aleksunes, Past
Sec/Treasurer
Brian Cummings, Councilor
Katiria Flores, Student
Representative
Alessandro Venosa, Postdoc
Representative
John Schuetz, Council Liaison

### Division Website Banner Image Contest

Help us improve our division website with your creativity! The TOX division invites you to enter our contest to design our lead banner image to be used on our division page on the ASPET website. We invite you to submit a unique design as a high resolution image that will be used in the left most part of the banner and repeated as a watermark behind the text (i.e. to replace the DNA molecule in the banner on the top of this page). Thus, minimal or no text is desirable for image submission. Copyright of the image must be transferrable to ASPET. Winners will receive a \$250 prize.

Please submit your designs to Alison Harrill by email at Alison.harrill@nih.gov.
Entries may be submitted as a .jpg, .png, or .tif. Submissions are due by December 1, 2016.



1st place - **Katiria Flores**, University of Connecticut 2nd place - **Souvarish Sarkar**, Iowa State University 3rd place - **Rachel Murphy**, Marshall University

The winners of the 2016 postdoctoral scientist poster competition are:



1st place - **Alessandro Venosa**, Rutgers University 2nd place - **Hailiang Liu**, Northeast Ohio Medical University (not pictured)



The Division for Toxicology encourages you to attend the following symposia to be presented at the ASPET Annual Meeting at EB2017 from April 22-26 in Chicago:

- Intestine-liver crosstalk: New frontier for drug metabolism, liver injury, and repair
- Mitochondria: Guardians of the cell
- Epigenetic regulation of toxicity and implications for risk assessment

For more information on the ASPET program, visit www.aspet.org/eb2017



#### **Division for Toxicology Career Awards**

The Division for Toxicology offers three career awards to members who have made significant contributions to the field. Applications for this year's candidates are under review and winners will be announced in early January. Awards will be presented at the ASPET Annual Meeting at EB2017.

**The New Investigator Award:** presented to a member of ASPET who is within 7 years of obtaining their highest degree and who has made significant contributions to toxicology.

The Junior Investigator Award: presented to a member of ASPET who is within 15 years of obtaining their highest degree and who has made significant contributions to toxicology.

**The Career Award:** presented to an established investigator to recognize outstanding original research contributions in toxicology.

For more information about these awards, click here.

The EB2016 Career Award winners are highlighted below:



**Career Achievement Award:** John D. Schuetz, Ph.D. Vice-Chair, Pharmaceutical Sciences Department at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

# Submissions for *The Pharmacologist*



Did you know that members of the Division for Toxicology can submit content such as news and information on division activities and member highlights for publication in ASPET's quarterly online news magazine, *The Pharmacologist*? If you are interested in submitting content for *The Pharmacologist*, please contact Alison Harrill at Alison.harrill@nih.gov.

\* Please note that due to space limitations, all articles and images submitted may be subject to editing to fit the layout and consistency of the magazine.

### **Important Dates**



November 17, 2016: Abstract submission deadline

February 23, 2017:
Discount registration to

Discount registration for EB deadline

March 31, 2017: Discounted housing for EB deadline

April 22, 2017:

ASPET business meeting and awards presentation

April 22-26, 2017: ASPET Annual Meeting at EB2017



**Junior Investigator Award:** Brian Cummings, Ph.D., Associate Professor and Director, Interdisciplinary Toxicology Program at the University of Georgia





**New Investigator Award:** Jamie J. Bernard, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology at Michigan State University