In This Section

News Detail

ASPET Member in the News: Dr. Namandjé N. Bumpus Receives Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers

February 19, 2016

Namandje BumpusNamandjé N. Bumpus, PhD as been awarded the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers.

Dr. Bumpus is an Associate Professor at Johns Hopkins University Department of Pharmacology & Molecular Sciences.  She has been an ASPET member since 2008 and has served as Councilor of the Division of Drug Metabolism from 2013-2015. She was also recently elected as Secretary-Treasurer-elect for the division.

An excerpt from the press release about the award follows:

President Obama Honors Extraordinary Early-Career Scientists

President Obama today named 105 researchers as recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the highest honor bestowed by the United States Government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers. The winners will receive their awards at a Washington, DC ceremony this spring.

"These early-career scientists are leading the way in our efforts to confront and understand challenges from climate change to our health and wellness," President Obama said. "We congratulate these accomplished individuals and encourage them to continue to serve as an example of the incredible promise and ingenuity of the American people."

The Presidential Early Career Awards highlight the key role that the Administration places in encouraging and accelerating American innovation to grow our economy and tackle our greatest challenges. This year’s recipients are employed or funded by the following departments and agencies: Department of Agriculture, Department of Commerce, Department of Defense, Department of Education, Department of Energy, Department of Health and Human Services, Department of the Interior, Department of Veterans Affairs, Environmental Protection Agency, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, National Science Foundation, and the Intelligence Community. These departments and agencies join together annually to nominate the most meritorious scientists and engineers whose early accomplishments show the greatest promise for assuring America’s preeminence in science and engineering and contributing to the awarding agencies' missions.

The awards, established by President Clinton in 1996, are coordinated by the Office of Science and Technology Policy within the Executive Office of the President. Awardees are selected for their pursuit of innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology and their commitment to community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, public education, or community outreach.

Read the full press release on  

Last updated: February 19, 2016 

Related Files:
  • Members in the News
Last Updated: July 17, 2018

Job Postings