In This Section

26th Annual Scientific Meeting - Friday, June 14, 2013

The Searle Conference Center

Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, IL
1725 W. Harrison St.
Professional Building
Chicago, IL

2013 Annual Meeting Program 

8:30 – 10:30 a.m.: Registration (The Searle Conference Center, Professional Building, 5th Floor)
Continental Breakfast (Main Lounge)
Poster Session (Main Lounge). Twenty-five posters were presented in the poster session. Four posters were presented by undergraduate students, 9 by graduate students, 5 by postdocs and 7 by faculty members or research scientists at pharmaceutical companies.

8:30 – 12:00 p.m.: Vendor Exhibits (Main Lounge)

10:45 – 11:45 a.m.: Young Investigator Symposium (542 Brainard Room). Welcome and opening remarks by Alejandro Mayer, Midwestern University, President, GLC-ASPET 

10:45 – 11:00 a.m.: MicroRNA-30c regulates EMT, drug resistance and breast tumor invasion
Ya-Fang Chang, Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Chicago

11:00 – 11:15 a.m.: Reprogramming of the ovarian cancer microenvironment by miRNA
Fred Kohlhapp, Postdoctoral Fellow, Northwestern University

11:15 – 11:30 a.m.: Micro-RNA-mediated downregulation of Kv channels in pulmonary arterial hypertension
Nichole Pohl, Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Illinois at Chicago

11:30 – 11:45 a.m.: Intersectin-1s deficiency and intercellular transfer of Alk5 by microparticles promote abnormal lung endothelial cell proliferation
Cristina Bardita, M.D., Graduate Student, Rush University

12:00 – 1:00 p.m.: Lunch (Fenger-Sippy Room). The Lunch and Learn Career Workshop (Fenger-Sippy Room) consisted of 4 scientists hosting 4 tables where Pharmacology careers in the fields of academics (both graduate and undergraduate institutions), biotechnology companies and large pharmaceutical corporations were discussed.

1:00 – 4:15 p.m.: Symposium: Functional microRNA in disease: Novel opportunities for pharmacology (542 Brainard Room)  

1:00 – 1:05 p.m.: Welcome and Opening Remarks by Eric Blomme, AbbVie Inc., and Maria Barbolina, UIC

1:05 – 1:30 p.m.: Regulating the microRNA machinery
Zain Paroo, University of Illinois at Chicago

1:55 – 2:25 p.m.: MicroRNAs as biomarkers of safety and efficacy in drug discovery and development
Jonathan Maher, AbbVie Inc.

2:35 – 3:05 p.m.: MicroRNA roles in tumorigenesis and chemotherapy resistance
Gianpiero Di Leva, The Ohio State University

3:15 – 4:15 p.m.: Keynote Address: MicroRNAs in cardiovascular disease: Current progress and challenges
Chunxiang (Kevin) Zhang, Rush University

4:30 – 5:00 p.m.: Business Meeting and Awards Presentation
                                 Election Results: Alejandro Mayer, GLC ASPET President
                                 Awards: Presented by Poster Competition Coordinators
                                 Ricardo Monzon, Xavier University and
                                 Saverio Gentile, Loyola University Medical Center

Previous Annual Meeting Reports    

26th Annual Scientific Meeting - June 14, 2013
Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, IL
Program and Abstracts
Pictures from 26th Annual Scientific Meeting 

25th Annual Scientific Meeting - June 22, 2012
Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, IL
Program and Abstracts
Pictures from 25th Annual Scientific Meeting 

24th Annual Scientific Meeting - June 10, 2011
The University of Chicago Gleacher Center, Chicago, IL 

23rd Annual Scientific Meeting - June 18, 2010
The University of Chicago Gleacher Center, Chicago, IL

22nd Annual Scientific Meeting  - June 19, 2009
The University of Chicago Gleacher Center, Chicago, IL  

21st Annual Scientific Meeting  - June 13, 2008
Chicago Cultural Center, Chicago Illinois 

20th Annual Scientific Meeting  - June 8, 2007
Chicago Medical School, Rosalind Franklin University, North Chicago, Illinois 

19th Annual Scientific Meeting  - June 9, 2006
University of Illinois - Chicago, Chicago, Illinois 

18th Annual Scientific Meeting  - Friday, June 17, 2005
Midwestern University, Downers Grove, IL 

17th Annual Scientific Meeting  - Thursday, June 3, 2004
Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine, Maywood, Illinois 

16th Annual Scientific Meeting  - Thursday, May 8, 2003
Feinberg School of Medicine/Northwestern University, Chicago, Illinois

Previous Keynote Speakers  

Job Postings