In This Section

SSA Awards Banner 

Julius AxelrodAward Description | Presentation | Nomination Criteria and Process | Nomination Submission | Nomination Deadline | Prior Recipients | Donate to this Award 

Award Description

The Julius Axelrod Award in Pharmacology was established in 1991 to honor the memory of the eminent American pharmacologist who shaped the fields of neuroscience, drug metabolism, and biochemistry and who served as a mentor for numerous eminent pharmacologists around the world. The Julius Axelrod Award is presented for significant contributions to understanding the biochemical mechanisms underlying the pharmacological actions of drugs and for contributions to mentoring other pharmacologists. ASPET assumed responsibility of the Julius Axelrod Award in Pharmacology from the Catecholamine Club in 2007.


The award is presented annually, at the award ceremony during the ASPET Annual Meeting. The award consists of:

  • An invitation to deliver the Julius Axelrod Lecture at the ASPET Annual Meeting the year following receipt of the Award.
  • An invitation to organize the Julius Axelrod Symposium at the ASPET Annual Meeting the year following receipt of the award.
  • An invitation by the Catecholamine Club to give a less formal presentation at its annual dinner meeting that year of the award.
  • A $5000 honorarium.
  • A commemorative medal.
  • Complimentary registration and travel expenses for the winner and spouse to attend the ASPET Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology.

Nomination Criteria and Process

  • There are no restrictions on nominees for this award.
  • The nomination must be made by a member of ASPET or the Catecholamine Club.
  • No candidate may be nominated for more than one major ASPET award in any given year.
  • The award shall be made on the basis of originality and uniqueness of accomplishments throughout a long career distinguished by sustained, significant contributions to research and mentoring in pharmacology.
  • Selection of the recipient will be made by the ASPET Awards Committee, appointed by the President of ASPET. 

Nomination Submission

Nominations shall be submitted using the ASPET Online Awards Portal by logging using the box below. The nominations shall consist of:

  1. The candidate's curriculum vitae and bibliography in PDF.
  2. A brief biographical summary of the candidate and his/her work (in no more than 200 words.)
  3. A letter of nomination describing the research and mentoring contributions to pharmacology of the candidate that make him/her eligible for this Award, listing major contributions (in PDF and no more than 1000 words.)
  4. A list of individuals mentored by the candidate in PDF.
  5. The names and emails of up to two people who can provide additional letters of support (optional). They need not be ASPET members.
  6. The names and emails of up to two former trainees who can describe the quality of their training with the candidate and its impact on their careers (optional). They need not be ASPET members. 

Access the Awards Portal to Submit Applications or Nominations and to Review Submissions

Apply Now

Nomination Deadline

Award nominations for the 2018 Julius Axelrod Award are due by Friday, September 15, 2017.

Recipients of the Julius Axelrod Award in Pharmacology

1991 Ullrich Trendelenberg
1992 Arvid Carlsson
1993 Norman Weiner
1994 Robert Furchgott
1995 Irvin Kopin
1998 Sidney Spector
1999 Solomon Snyder
2000 Erminio Costa
2001 Toshi Nagatsu
2002 Salomon Langer
2003 Richard Weinshilboum
2004 Richard Palmiter
2005 Marc Caron  
 2006 Susan Amara
2007 Tong H. Joh
2008 Randy D. Blakely
2009 Palmer W. Taylor
2010 Brian Kobilka
2011 Elaine Sanders-Bush
2012 Gavril W. Pasternak
2013 Lee E. Limbird
2014 Jeffrey L. Benovic
2015 Jean Rossier
2016 Paul A. Insel
2017 Michel Bouvier  


Last Updated: September 1, 2017

Job Postings