In This Section

SSA Awards Banner 

RuffoloAward Description | Eligibility | Criteria and Selection | Nomination Submission | Nomination Deadline | Prior Recipients 

Award Description

The Robert R. Ruffolo Career Achievement Award in Pharmacology was established in 2011 in recognition of the contributions made to drug discovery and development by Dr. Ruffolo. The Award recognizes the scientific achievements of scientists who are at the height of their careers (typically mid- to late-career) and who have made significant contributions to any area of pharmacology.

The award is presented annually, at the award ceremony during the ASPET Annual Meeting. The award consists of:

  • A $2,500 honorarium
  • A commemorative medal
  • Complimentary registration and travel expenses for the winner and spouse to attend the ASPET Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology


  • The candidate need not be a member of the Society.
  • The nomination must be made by an ASPET member.
  • No candidate may be nominated for more than one major ASPET award in any given year.

Criteria and Selection

  • The award shall be made on the basis of the originality and impact of the nominee's accomplishments in pharmacology.
  • Selection of the recipient will be made by the ASPET Awards Committee, appointed by the President of ASPET.

Nomination Submission

Nominations shall be submitted using the ASPET Awards Portal by logging into the box below. The nominations shall consist of:

  1. The candidate's curriculum vitae and bibliography in PDF.
  2. A brief biographical summary of the candidate and the importance of their work for use in award winner announcements (in no more than 150 words.)
  3. Six published articles or manuscripts accepted for publication that are a representation of the candidate's work, including early seminal discoveries. Each document should be provided as a separate PDF.
  4. A letter of nomination with a summary that describes the importance of the candidate's work and his/her seminal discovery (in up to 1000 words in PDF.)

Access the Submission Portal to Submit Symposium Proposals

Apply Now

Nomination Deadline

Award nominations for the 2020 Robert R. Ruffolo Award are due by Monday, September 16, 2019.

Award Recipients 

2012Robert J. Lefkowitz 
2013Pancras C. Wong
2014Ferdinando Nicoletti
2015Heidi Hamm
2016William A. Catterall
2017Donald P. McDonnell 
2018Raymond J. Dingledine
2019Palmer W. Taylor
2020Joan Heller Brown



Last Updated: February 19, 2020

Job Postings