In This Section

Award Description

Peter Dews

The ASPET Division for Behavioral Pharmacology sponsors the P. B. Dews Award for Research in Behavioral Pharmacology to recognize outstanding lifetime achievements in research, teaching, and professional service in the field of Behavioral Pharmacology and to honor Peter Dews for his seminal contributions to the development of behavioral pharmacology as a discipline. The biennial award is supported by an endowment made possible by contributions from Aventis, Centre de Recherche Pierre Fabre, Eli Lilly, Harvard University, International Life Sciences Institute Caffeine Committee, Merck (San Diego), Pepsi Cola Company, Pfizer Central Research and Pfizer Global Research and Development, Pharmacia, Wyeth Research, and ASPET members.

Read more about P.B. Dews.

Contributions to the P. B. Dews Award Fund are also welcome.

The award is presented biennially in even numbered years during the ASPET Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology. The award consists of:

  • An honorarium of $1,000
  • A commemorative plaque
  • Partial travel expenses (up to $500) to attend the award ceremony at the ASPET Annual Meeting
  • The recipient will be invited by the Chair of the Division for Behavioral Pharmacology to deliver a special lecture on this occasion. The lecture may be published subsequently in an appropriate ASPET-sponsored publication.


There are no restrictions on nominees for this award. Nominations must be made by members of ASPET. Self-nominations are not accepted. The current division chair and secretary/treasurer and the ASPET Council president and secretary/treasurer are ineligible for division awards during their active tenure.


Selection will be made by the P.B. Dews Award Committee, appointed by the President of ASPET with input from the Division for Behavioral Pharmacology.

Nomination Materials

Nominations shall be submitted using the ASPET Awards Portal by logging into the box below. 

The nomination shall consist of:

  1. Description of the candidate’s major contributions, including scientific, teaching, and professional achievements (up to 1000 words max).
  2. Candidate’s curriculum vitae and bibliography.
  3. List of the candidate’s trainees.
  4. Six major publications provided as separate PDFs. 
  5. A brief biographical summary of the candidate and the importance of his/her work for use in award winner announcements (in no more than 150 words.)

Access the Awards Portal to Submit Applications or Nominations and to Review Submissions

Apply Now

Nomination Deadline

Call for Nominations will open Summer 2025

Contribute to the P.B. Dews Lifetime Achievement Award for Research in Behavioral Pharmacology

Previous Recipients of the P. B. Dews Award in Behavioral Pharmacology

2002William H. Morse
2004Joseph V. Brady
2006Leonard Cook
2008Charles R. Schuster
2010Donald E. McMillan
2012James E. Barrett
2014James H. Woods
Travis Thompson and Roy Pickens
Robert L. Balster
Linda A. Dykstra
2024Michael Nader


Job Postings