In This Section

SSA Awards Banner 

Vitruvian_ManAward Description | Presentation | Nomination Criteria and Process | Nomination Submission | Nomination Deadline | Prior Recipients 

Award Description

The Pharmacia-ASPET Award in Experimental Therapeutics recognizes and stimulates outstanding research in pharmacology and experimental therapeutics, basic laboratory or clinical research that has had, or potentially will have, a major impact on the pharmacological treatment of disease. This award was originally established in 1969 as the ASPET Award for Experimental Therapeutics, but was renamed in 2002, when supported in perpetuity by an endowment from Pharmacia (now Pfizer).


The award is presented annually, at the award ceremony during the ASPET Annual Meeting. The award consists of:

  • A $2,500 honorarium
  • A commemorative plaque
  • Complimentary registration and travel expenses for the winner and spouse to attend the ASPET Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology

Nomination Criteria and Process

  • The candidate must be a member of ASPET.
  • The nomination must be made by a member of ASPET.
  • No candidate may be nominated for more than one major ASPET award in any given year.
  • The Award shall be made on the basis of published articles, manuscripts ready for publication, and a 1000-word summary.
  • Selection will be made by the ASPET Awards Committee, appointed by the President of ASPET.

Nomination Submission

Nominations shall be submitted using the ASPET Awards Portal by logging into the box below. The nominations shall consist of:

  1. Candidate's curriculum vitae and bibliography in PDF.
  2. Brief biographical summary of the candidate and his/her work (in up to 200 words.)
  3. Six published articles and/or manuscripts that have been accepted for publication that have direct bearing on this award. Each document should be provided as a separate PDF.
  4. Letter of nomination in PDF with an up to 1000-word summary that describes the importance of the candidate's work.

Access the Awards Portal to Submit Applications or Nominations and to Review Submissions

Apply Now

Nomination Deadline

Award nominations for the 2018 Pharmacia-ASPET Award are due by Friday, September 15, 2017.

Award Recipients 

1969 John A. Oates
1970 Joseph R. Bertino
1971 Elliot S. Vesell
1972 Francois M. Abboud
1973 Dean T. Mason
1974 Leon I. Goldberg
1975 Mackenzie Walser
1976 Louis Lasagna
1977 Allan H. Conney
1978 Attallah Kappas
1979 Sydney Spector
1980 Sanford M. Rosenthal
1981 David G. Shand
1982 William H. Prusoff
1983 Marcus M. Reidenberg
1984 Sir James Black
1985 Louis Lemberger
1986 Alan C. Sartorelli
1987 Albrecht Fleckenstein
1988 Jean-Francois Borel
1989 Benedict R. Lucchesi
1990 Albert Sjoerdsma
1991 Theophile Godfraind
1992 James W. Fisher
1993 V. Craig Jordan  


1994 Susan Band Horwitz
1995 Henry I. Yamamura
1996 Robert F. Furchgott
1997 Michael M. Gottesman
1998 Phil Skolnick
1999 Yung-Chi Cheng
2000 Salomon Z. Langer
2001 George Breese
2002 Darryle D. Schoepp
2003 William C. De Groat
2004 Philip Needleman
2005 Donald P. McDonnell
2006 John C. Lee
2007 P. Jeffrey Conn
2008 Jerry J. Buccafusco
2009 Kenneth A. Jacobson
2010 Garret A. FitzGerald
2011 Jan Balzarini
2012 Angela H. Brodie
2013 Richard R. Neubig
2014 Jürgen Wess
2015 L. Jackson Roberts
2016 Csaba Szabo
2017 Craig W. Lindsley  

Last Updated: August 23, 2017

Job Postings