In This Section

Award Description | Eligibility | Criteria and Selection | Nomination Submission | Nomination Deadline | Prior Recipients | Donate to this Award 

Award Description

The Otto Krayer Award in Pharmacology commemorates the enduring legacy of Otto Krayer's personal qualities: his ethical behavior, his commitment to teaching, his high standards of scientific scholarship, publication and editorship, his promotion of interdisciplinary research to reveal the actions of drugs or other chemicals, and his guidance and support of younger scientists. The purpose of the award is to recognize an individual whose character and career contributions to pharmacology are in accord with those exemplified by Otto Krayer.

This award was originally established in 1985, suspended in 2003, and became active again with a presentation at the 2017 ASPET Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology. Thereafter the Krayer Award is presented biennially in even numbered years starting in 2018. The suspension of the award was due to limited financial support and its return was made possible by a generous gift to ASPET. Additional donations made in memory of Dr. Otto Krayer will help ensure the long-term financial stability of the award.

More information on Otto Krayer.   

The award is presented biennially, in even numbered years, at the award ceremony during the ASPET Annual Meeting. The award consists of:

  • A $2,500 honorarium
  • A commemorative plaque
  • Complimentary registration and travel expenses for the winner and spouse to attend the ASPET Annual Meeting to receive the award.
  • The awardee may be invited to deliver a lecture in conjunction with the ASPET Annual Meeting, other ASPET meeting, or webinar.


  • The candidate must be a member of ASPET.
  • The nomination must be made by an ASPET member.
  • No candidate may be nominated for more than one major ASPET award in any given year.
  • The current Council president and secretary/treasurer are ineligible during their active tenure.

Criteria and Selection

  • The award is made on the basis of demonstrated ethical behavior, commitment to teaching, high scientific standards, and support of young scientists as exemplified by Dr. Otto Krayer, as well as the importance of the candidate’s research contributions to the field and promotion of interdisciplinary research to reveal the actions of drugs. Published research is high quality and demonstrates originality and the significant impact of the candidate’s accomplishments in any area of pharmacology.
  • Selection will be made by the ASPET Awards Committee, appointed by the President of ASPET

Encouraging Diversity

ASPET is strongly committed to providing opportunities to all its members regardless of race, color, age, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, or ability/disability.  Nominations from and for members of marginalized and underrepresented communities are greatly encouraged.

Nomination Materials

Nominations shall be submitted using the ASPET Awards Portal by logging into the blue box on the right. The nominations shall consist of:

  1. The candidate's curriculum vitae and bibliography in PDF.
  2. A brief biographical summary of the candidate and the importance of their work for use in award winner announcements (in no more than 150 words.)
  3. Six published articles and/or manuscripts that have been accepted for publication that have direct bearing on this award. Each document should be provided as a separate PDF.
  4. Letter of nomination that includes a summary that details the importance of the candidate's work (in a PDF up to 1000 words.)

If any of the following relationships exist between the nominator and the candidate, you are encouraged to disclose it in your letter of nomination:  family member, spouse, partner; current dean, departmental chair, or postdoctoral or graduate advisor; current business or financial relationship (e.g., business partner, employer, employee); research collaborator or co-author within the last three years; work at the same institution or having accepted a position at the same institution; previous graduate student or postdoctoral fellow in the last five years; or if either are currently serving on the award selection committee for this award.

Access the Awards Portal to Submit Nominations or Applications and to Review Submissions

Apply Now

Nomination Deadline

Closed for 2023

Recipients of the Otto Krayer Award in Pharmacology

1985Norman Weiner
1986William W. Fleming
1987John R. Blinks
1988Thomas F. Burks


Edwin E. Daniel
1990Michael J. Brody
1991Salomon Z. Langer
1992Michael J. Kuhar
1993Arnold Schwartz
1994Irving H. Goldberg
1995David J. Triggle
1996Edson X. Albuquerque
1997John C. McGiff
1998Theodore Slotkin
1999Horace Loh
2000Toshio Narahashi
2001V. Craig Jordan
2002Alan C. Sartorelli
2003-2016Award Suspended 
2017Joan Heller Brown
2018Paul F. Hollenberg
2020S.J. Enna
2022Des R. Richardson


Last Updated: December 18, 2023

Job Postings