In This Section

Award Description

JH Woods

The J.H. Woods Early Career Award in Behavioral Pharmacology has been established to recognize outstanding original research by early career investigators in the area of behavioral pharmacology.

This award will be presented annually (as funds permit) during the ASPET Annual Meeting. The award consists of:

  • A $500 honorarium
  • A commemorative certificate
  • Complimentary registration and travel expenses (up to $750) to attend the ASPET Annual Meeting the year for which the award is bestowed.
  • An opportunity to participate in the division’s programming at the ASPET Annual Meeting the year after the award is bestowed.

Contributions to the J.H. Woods Early Career Award Fund are also welcome.


  • The candidate must be no more than 15 years from receiving a doctorate degree and must be ineligible for ASPET post-doctoral travel awards.
  • Candidates are welcome from members in academia, industry, government, or other employment.
  • The candidate must be a member of ASPET in good standing (i.e. current year's dues must be paid prior to applying.)
  • The Division for Behavioral Pharmacology must be the candidate’s primary division within ASPET.
  • Candidate’s research interests must be related to behavioral pharmacology, as indicated by the applicant's curriculum vitae and bibliography.
  • Candidates must be nominated by an ASPET member. Self-nominations are not accepted.
  • The candidate cannot have received a previous Early Career Award from ASPET and may not receive more than one ASPET award in any given year.
  • The current division chair and secretary/treasurer and the ASPET Council president and secretary/treasurer are ineligible for division awards during their active tenure.


Selection will be made at the discretion of the P.B. Dews Award Committee or other designated committee so established by the Division for Behavioral Pharmacology Executive Committee. Selection is based on the relevant accomplishments in the candidate's CV (10%), the quality of the candidate's published articles (20%), the candidate's continued productivity as an independent investigator (20%), the creativity and novelty of the candidate's independent research focus having a major impact on the field of behavioral pharmacology (20%), strong evidence of the candidate's active participation within the division or other ASPET events (20%), and an overall rating (10%).

Nomination Materials

Nominations shall be submitted using the ASPET Awards Portal by logging into the box below. Nominations shall consist of:

  1. Candidate’s curriculum vitae and bibliography.
  2. A brief narrative of the candidate’s independent research focus (no more than 1 page, uploaded as PDF).
  3. Evidence of past participation in ASPET Division for Behavioral Pharmacology (BEH) or other ASPET events (e.g., presentations at EB meetings, service to ASPET, attendance at BEH functions; not to exceed 500 words).
  4. A brief biographical summary of the candidate and the importance of their work for use in award winner announcements (in no more than 150 words.)

Access the Awards Portal to Submit Nominations or Applications and to Review Submissions

Apply Now

Nomination Deadline

Call for Nominations will open July 2024

Prior Recipients

Jun-Xu Li
Susan K. Wood
Gregory T. Collins
2022Catherine M. Davis-Takacs
2023Robert W. Gould 
2024Brian D. Kangas 

Job Postings