In This Section

vanhoutte2The Paul M. Vanhoutte Award in Vascular Pharmacology was established to honor Dr. Vanhoutte’s lifelong scientific contributions to our better understanding and appreciation of the importance of endothelial cells and vascular smooth muscle function in health and disease and for his mentoring of countless prominent endothelial and vascular biologists and pharmacologists.

The Paul M. Vanhoutte Award is a biennial award, consisting of an honorarium of $1,000, a custom-designed crystal bowl depicting the named Lectureship, and up to $2,000 travel expenses including registration to the ASPET annual meeting. A recipient will be selected and invited to deliver a state-of-the-art lecture on recent advances in vascular biology and pharmacology at the ASPET annual meeting (Division’s programming session). The presentation of his/her research should be of broad interest and contribute to the growth of the Cardiovascular Pharmacology Division.

There are no restrictions on institutional affiliation, nationality, or age of the candidate, but the recipient must be an active member of the ASPET before receiving the award nomination. Nominations must be made by a member of the ASPET, and no member may nominate more than one candidate per year. Final selection of the recipient will be made by the Award Committee of the Division for Cardiovascular Pharmacology.

Nomination Submission

Nominations should consist of:

  1. A letter of nomination describing the contributions to vascular biology and pharmacology of the candidate that make him/her eligible for this Award with a listing of his/her major contributions (1000 word limit)
  2. Up to four additional letters of support describing the candidate’s contributions to vascular biology and pharmacology may also be submitted (uploaded as separate PDFs)
  3. A complete curriculum vitae
  4. A brief biographical summary (up to 200 words max).

To submit your nomination, visit ASPET's online awards portal and use the box below to log in with your ASPET member user name and password. If you do not remember your user name or password, please contact

Submit your Award Application or Nomination

Apply Now

Nomination Deadline

The award nomination deadline is Friday, September 15, 2017.

Previous Recipients of the Paul M. Vanhoutte Award

  • 2008 - Donald D. Heistad 
  • 2010 - William B. Campbell  
  • 2012 - Richard A. Cohen 
  • 2014 - Sue P. Duckles 
  • 2016 - Mark T. Nelson
Last Updated: August 23, 2017

Job Postings