In This Section

Award Description | Eligibility | Criteria and Selection | Nomination Submission | Nomination Deadline | Prior Recipients | Donate to this Award 

Goodman and GilmanAward Description

The Louis S. Goodman and Alfred Gilman Award in Receptor Pharmacology was established in 1980 to recognize and stimulate outstanding research in pharmacology of biological receptors. Such research might provide a better understanding of the mechanisms of biological processes and potentially provide the basis for the discovery of drugs useful in the treatment of diseases.  

The award is presented biennially, in even numbered years, at the award ceremony during the ASPET Annual Meeting. The award recipient receives the following:

  • An invitation to deliver the Goodman and Gilman Award Lecture at the ASPET Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology.
  • A $2,500 honorarium
  • An engraved plaque
  • Complimentary registration and travel expenses for the winner and spouse to attend the ASPET Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology


  • The candidate must be an ASPET member.
  • The nomination must be made by an ASPET member.
  • No candidate may be nominated for more than one major ASPET award in any given year.
  • The current Council president and secretary/treasurer are ineligible during their active tenure.

Criteria and Selection

  • The award is to be made on the basis of outstanding, original research contributions as demonstrated in published work or submitted manuscripts as well as a record of accomplishments showing the candidate’s contributions to pharmacology of biological receptors as summarized in the nomination letter and CV.
  • Selection will be made by the ASPET Awards Committee, appointed by the President of ASPET.

Nomination Submission

Nominations shall be submitted using the ASPET Awards Portal by logging into the box below. The nominations shall consist of:

  1. The candidate's curriculum vitae and bibliography in PDF.
  2. A brief biographical summary of the candidate and the importance of their work for use in award winner announcements (in no more than 150 words.)
  3. Six articles published or ready for publication that have direct bearing on the award. Each document should be provided as a separate PDF.
  4. Letter of nomination in PDF with a summary that describes the importance of the candidate's work (in up to 1000 words.)

If any of the following relationships exist between the nominator and the candidate, you are encouraged to disclose it in your letter of nomination:  family member, spouse, partner; current dean, departmental chair, or postdoctoral or graduate advisor; current business or financial relationship (e.g., business partner, employer, employee); research collaborator or co-author within the last three years; work at the same institution or having accepted a position at the same institution; previous graduate student or postdoctoral fellow in the last five years; or if either are currently serving on the award selection committee for this award.

Access the Awards Portal to Submit Applications or Nominations and to Review Submissions

Apply Now

Nomination Deadline

Nominations for the 2022 Goodman and Gilman Award are due by Wednesday, September 15, 2021.

Award Recipients

1980Solomon H. Snyder
1982Pedro Cuatrecasas
1984Robert F. Furchgott
1986Robert J. Lefkowitz


Ronald M. Evans
1990Alfred G. Gilman
1992Paul Greengard
1994Jean-Pierre Changeux
1996Elliott M. Ross
1998David Garbers
2000Melanie Cob
2002William B. Pratt
2004Lee E. Limbird 
2006Anthony R. Means
2008Craig C. Malbon
2010Alan R. Saltiel
2012V. Craig Jordan
2014Kenneth A. Jacobson
2016Bryan L. Roth
2018Marc G. Caron
2020Terrence P. Kenakin


Last Updated: June 22, 2020

Job Postings