In This Section

The Canadian Society of Pharmacology and Therapeutics (CSPT)

Background and Mission | Chapter Bylaws | Officers and Councilors | Chapter Annual Meeting

CSPT LogoBackground and Mission 

The Canadian Society of Pharmacology and Therapeutics (CSPT) is a national not-for-profit charitable organization that aims to foster the application of educational and research excellence to drug discovery and therapeutic choice. We are the official Canadian Member of the International Union of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (IUPHAR).


The CSPT membership comprises basic scientists, clinician scientists and trainees including postdoctoral fellows, graduate and undergraduate students and medical residents. CSPT members have an interest in clinical and basic pharmacology research, education and practice, and are active in academia, industry, government and consulting. 


The CSPT works to bring together a multidisciplinary group of individuals with broad interests in optimally safe and effective drug therapy.


The CSPT strives to be the national voice fostering the application of educational and research excellence to drug discovery and therapeutic choice. 


The CSPT values include basic and clinical research, education and training in basic and clinical pharmacology, multi-sectoral inputs (government, academia, industry, healthcare professionals, researchers) and safe and effective therapeutic choices. 

Chapter Bylaws

Download the bylaws in PDF.

Officers and Councilors (2020–2021)

President - Kerry Goralski, PhD, Professor, College of Pharmacy, Dalhousie University, 5968 College Street, PO BOX 15000, Halifax, Nova Scotia, B3H 4R2. (t) 902-494-2052; email:

President Elect and Outreach Committee Chair - Bruce Carleton, BPharm, PharmD, FISPE, Professor and Co-Chair, Division of Translational Therapeutics, Department of Pediatrics, Faculty of Medicine, University of British Columbia, BC Children’s Hospital Research Institute, 950 West 28th Avenue, Vancouver, BC  V5Z 4H4. email:

Past President and Nominating Committee Chair - Michael Rieder, MD, PhD, FRCPC FAAP FRCP (Edinburgh), CIHR-GSK Chair in Pediatric Clinical Pharmacology, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, University of Western Ontario, (t) 519-685-8293, email:

Treasurer - Brad Urquhart, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Physiology and Pharmacology, Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, Western University, 1151 Richmond Street, Medical Sciences Building Room 216, London, Ontario, N6A 5C1. (t) 519 661 3756; email:

Scientific Program Committee Chair - Donald Miller, PhD, Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics,University of Manitoba, 753 McDermot Ave. A205 Chown Building, Winnipeg, MB R3E 0T6; (t) 204-789-3278; email:

Scientific Program Committee Co-Chair - Eric Chen, MD, PhD, FRCPC, Associate Professor, Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto; Department of Medical Oncology and Hematology, Princess Margaret Cancer Center; email:

Education Committee Chair - Cindy Woodland, PhD, Director, Applied Clinical Pharmacology; Director, Graduate Collaborative Program in Biomedical Toxicology, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology, Faculty of Medicine, 1 King's College Circle, Toronto, Ontario, M5S 1A8. (t) (416) 978-3102; email:

Royal College Representative - Doreen Matsui, MD, PhD, FRCPC, Associate Professor, Departments of Paediatrics and Medicine, Western University. email:

Chapter Annual Meeting Information

Not on Mute: Let's Talk Contemporary Pharmacology
June 8 – 11, 2021


Visit the CSPT site for more information and updates.

Past Annual Meetings

Last Updated: May 12, 2021

Job Postings