In This Section

Award Description

The ASPET Division for Cancer Pharmacology established the Susan Band Horwitz Award Lecture to recognize excellent original research by established investigators in the area of cancer pharmacology.  The award is named in honor of Dr. Horwitz who is a pioneer in understanding the mechanism of action of cancer chemotherapy drugs many of which have been and remain mainstays of cancer therapy and whose work has changed the nature of cancer treatment.

The award will be presented during the ASPET Annual Meeting and consists of:

  • A $1,000 honorarium
  • Reimbursement of up to $1,000 in travel expenses to the ASPET Annual Meeting
  • Complimentary registration to the ASPET Annual Meeting
  • An invitation to give a named lecture at the ASPET Annual Meeting
  • A commemorative plaque


  • The candidate must be an ASPET member in good standing.
  • The nomination must be made by an ASPET member in good standing.
  • Applications are welcome from members in academia, industry, government, or other employment.
  • The current division chair and secretary/treasurer and the ASPET Council president and secretary/treasurer are ineligible for division awards during their active tenure.


Selection will be made by the Division for Cancer Pharmacology Executive Committee.

Nomination Materials

Nominations shall be submitted using the ASPET Awards Portal by logging into the box below. The nominations shall consist of:

  • The candidate's curriculum vitae and bibliography in PDF.
  • A brief biographical summary of the candidate and the importance of their work for use in award winner announcements (in no more than 150 words.)
  • Up to 2 letters of recommendation to be uploaded separately in PDF format.

If any of the following relationships exist between the nominator and the candidate, you are encouraged to disclose it in your letter of nomination:  family member, spouse, partner; current dean, departmental chair, or postdoctoral or graduate advisor; current business or financial relationship (e.g., business partner, employer, employee); research collaborator or co-author within the last three years; work at the same institution or having accepted a position at the same institution; previous graduate student or postdoctoral fellow in the last five years; or if either are currently serving on the award selection committee for this award.

Access the Awards Portal to Submit Applications or Nominations and to Review Submissions

Apply Now

Nomination Deadline

Nominations open on July 15, 2024. The deadline to submit a nomination is September 3, 2024. 

Susan Mooberry
2023J. Silvio Gutkind
2024Sharyn D. Baker 

Job Postings