In This Section

Award Description

Brodie Medal

The B. B. Brodie Award in Drug Metabolism and Disposition has been established to honor the fundamental contributions of Bernard B. Brodie in the field of drug metabolism and disposition. The Award recognizes outstanding original research contributions in drug metabolism and disposition, particularly those having a major impact on future research in the field. The B. B. Brodie Award is sponsored by the Division for Drug Metabolism and Disposition, and funds to support the award come from members’ contributions.

The Award is presented biennially in even numbered years and consists of:

  • A $2,000 honorarium
  • A commemorative medal
  • Hotel, and economy airfare to the award ceremony at the Annual Meeting
  • An invitation to deliver a lecture at the Annual Meeting, describing appropriate research accomplishments and their future direction, that also will be published in Drug Metabolism and Disposition


  • There are no restrictions on institutional affiliation.
  • A candidate need not be a member of the Society.
  • Supporting research accomplishments must not be used to win any other major award.
  • Only one letter of nomination is necessary, although more are acceptable.
  • The primary nomination must be submitted by an ASPET member.
  • Current division chairs and secretary/treasurers and the ASPET Council president and secretary/treasurer are ineligible for division awards during their active tenure.


Selection of an awardee will be made biennially by the B.B. Brodie Award Committee, appointed by the President of ASPET with input from the Division for Drug Metabolism and Disposition.

Nomination Submission

Nominations shall be submitted using the ASPET Awards Portal by using the login box below and shall consist of:

  1. Nominating letter and no more than five supporting letters detailing accomplishments of the nominee (as separate PDF documents).
  2. Six published articles and/or manuscripts that have been accepted for publication that are representative of outstanding work by the candidate. Each should be provided as a separate PDF.
  3. Comments on the candidate's outstanding papers provided as one PDF or Word document.
  4. A brief biographical summary of the candidate and the importance of their work for use in award winner announcements (in no more than 150 words.)
  5. Candidate’s curriculum vitae and bibliography.

If any of the following relationships exist between the nominator and the candidate, you are encouraged to disclose it in your letter of nomination:  family member, spouse, partner; current dean, departmental chair, or postdoctoral or graduate advisor; current business or financial relationship (e.g., business partner, employer, employee); research collaborator or co-author within the last three years; work at the same institution or having accepted a position at the same institution; previous graduate student or postdoctoral fellow in the last five years; or if either are currently serving on the award selection committee for this award.

Access the Submission Portal to Submit Symposium Proposals

Apply Now

Nomination Deadline

Nominations for the 2022 award are due by Wednesday, September 15, 2021.

Recipients of the Bernard B. Brodie Award in Drug Metabolism and Disposition

  • 1978 James R. Gillette
  • 1980 Minor J. Coon
  • 1982 Donald M. Jerina 
  • 1984 Gilbert J. Mannering
  • 1986 Daniel W. Nebert
  • 1988 Wayne M. Levin
  • 1990 Daniel M. Ziegler
  • 1992 F. Peter Guengerich
  • 1994 Paul R. Ortiz de Montellano
  • 1996 Anthony Y.H. Lu
  • 1997 Ronald W. Estabrook
  • 1999 Marion W. Anders
  • 2000 Bettie Sue Siler Masters
  • 2002 Eric F. Johnson
  • 2004 Thomas L. Poulos
  • 2006 Frank J. Gonzalez
  • 2008 Curtis D. Klaassen
  • 2010 James Halpert
  • 2012 Yuichi Sugiyama 
  • 2014 Bruce Hammock
  • 2016 Masahiko Negishi 
  • 2018 David J. Waxman
  • 2020 Kathleen M. Giacomini

Campaign for Funding the Award in Perpetuity


Last Updated: June 24, 2020

Job Postings