In This Section

Award Description | Eligibility | Criteria and Selection | Nomination Submission | Nomination Deadline | Prior Recipients  

Award Description

The Reynold Spector Award in Clinical Pharmacology and Translational Medicine was established in 2014 by ASPET in recognition of Dr. Spector's dedication and contributions to clinical pharmacology. The Award recognizes excellence in research and/or teaching in clinical pharmacology. This award is made possible by an endowment to ASPET from Dr. Reynold and Mrs. Michiko Spector. 

The award is presented biennially in odd numbered years, at the award ceremony during the ASPET Annual Meeting. The award consists of:

  • An $8,000 honorarium
  • A commemorative plaque
  • Complimentary registration and travel expenses for the winner and spouse to attend the ASPET Annual Meeting to receive the award.
  • An invitation to deliver the Reynold Spector Lecture in conjunction with the ASPET Annual Meeting, other ASPET meeting, or webinar.


  • The candidate need not be a member of the Society.
  • The nomination must be made by an ASPET member.
  • No candidate may be nominated for more than one major ASPET award in any given year.
  • The current Council president and secretary/treasurer are ineligible during their active tenure.

Criteria and Selection

  • The award shall be based on merit and the selection may honor excellence in research and/or teaching.
  • Selection will be made by the ASPET Awards Committee, appointed by the president of ASPET

Encouraging Diversity

ASPET is strongly committed to providing opportunities to all its members regardless of race, color, age, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, or ability/disability.  Nominations from and for members of marginalized and underrepresented communities are greatly encouraged.

Nomination Materials

Nominations shall be submitted using the ASPET Awards Portal by logging into the box below. The nominations shall consist of:

  1. Candidate's curriculum vitae and bibliography in PDF.
  2. A brief biographical summary of the candidate and the importance of their work for use in award winner announcements (in no more than 150 words.)
  3. Letter of nomination in PDF with an up to 1000-word summary describing the nominee's recent research and/or teaching activities in clinical pharmacology.
  4. Up to six supporting documents in separate PDFs. These might include copies of research papers, materials developed for teaching purposes, etc.

If any of the following relationships exist between the nominator and the candidate, you are encouraged to disclose it in your letter of nomination:  family member, spouse, partner; current dean, departmental chair, or postdoctoral or graduate advisor; current business or financial relationship (e.g., business partner, employer, employee); research collaborator or co-author within the last three years; work at the same institution or having accepted a position at the same institution; previous graduate student or postdoctoral fellow in the last five years; or if either are currently serving on the award selection committee for this award.

Access the Awards Portal to Submit Nominations or Applications and to Review Submissions

Apply Now

Nomination Deadline

Call for Nominations will open July 2024 

Award Recipients

2015Scott A. Waldman
2017Margaret R. MacLean
2019V. Craig Jordan
2021Garret A. FitzGerald
2023Kathleen M. Giacomini
Last Updated: April 29, 2024

Job Postings