In This Section

ASPET presents several Society awards to recognize outstanding research within our community. Although these awards have been discontinued by ASPET, the recipients are still worthy of recognition and praise for their outstanding contributions to science.

Last updated: May 10, 2016 

Epilepsy Research Award

The Epilepsy Research Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Pharmacology of Antiepileptic Drugs was established to recognize and stimulate outstanding reasech leading to better clinical control of epileptic seizures. The award was sponsored by ASPET and the International League Against Epilepsy. This award was given from 1978 to 2011 and was discontinued in 2012.

1978   Alan Richens
1979   Paolo L. Morselli
1980   Dixon M. Woodbury
1981   James A. Ferrendelli
1982   Ewart A. Swinyard
1983   Arthur Camerman
1984   Phillip C. Jobe
1985   Robert J. DeLorenzo
1986   Robert L. Macdonald
1987   James O. McNamara
1988   Harvey J. Kupferberg
1989   Frank C. Tortella
1990   Robert Naquet 
          1991   Raymond Dingledine
1992   O. Carter Snead III
1994   Michael A. Rogawski
1995   Karen N. Gale
1997   Marc A. Dichter
1999   Robert Sloviter
2001   Wolfgang Löscher
2003   Brian S. Meldrum
2005   J. Victor Nadler
2007   Robert Schwarcz
2009   Tallie Z. Baram
2011   Asla Pitkanen 

Harry Gold Award

The Harry Gold Award in Clinical Pharmacology was established by the family of the late Harry Gold for the purpose of honoring excellence in research and/or teaching in clinical pharmacology. This award was given from 1977 to 2003 and was discontinued in 2004.

1977   Albert Sjoerdsma
1978   John A. Oates
1979   Walter Modell
1983   Louis Lasagna
1985   Elliot S. Vesell
1987   Leon I. Goldberg
1989   Arthur J. Atkinson, Jr.
          1991   Reynold Spector
1993   Louis Lemberger
1995   Alan S. Nies
1997   Sir James W. Black
1999   Marcus M. Reidenberg
2001   Raymond L. Woosley
2003   Richard M. Weinshilboum

ASPET-Astellas Award Winners

The ASPET-Astellas Awards in Translational Pharmacology were intended to recognize pharmacological research accomplishments that sought to extend fundamental research closer to applications directed towards improving human health. The awards were given to 1) recognize those individuals whose research has the potential to lead to the introduction of novel pharmacologic approaches or technologies that may offer significant advances in clinical medicine in the future and 2) to facilitate that translational process. The awards were made possible by a grant to ASPET from the Astellas Foundation. These awards were given from 2007 to 2010 and were discontinued in 2011.

P. Jeffrey Conn
Kathryn A. Cunningham
Liewei Wang
Randy D. Blakely
Anthony J. Kanai
John S. Lazo
Piyali Dasgupta
Paul A. Insel
Richard R. Neubig
Craig Lindsley
Kenneth Tew
Gonzalo E. Torres

Benedict R. Lucchesi Distinguished Lectureship

The Benedict R. Lucchesi Distinguished Lectureship in Cardiac Pharmacology was established to honor Dr. Lucchesi's lifelong scientific contributions to our better understanding and appreciation of the pharmacological treatment and prevention of cardiovascular disease and for his mentoring of countless prominent cardiovascular pharmacologists in translational approaches. This award was given from 2007 to 2013 and was discontinued in 2015.

2007 - Garrett J. Gross  
2009 - Joan Heller Brown 
2011 - David J. Lefer 
2013 - Andre Terzic

The Torald Sollmann Award in Pharmacology

The Torald Sollmann Award in Pharmacology was established in 1960 to commemorate the pioneer work of Dr. Torald Sollmann in the fields of pharmacological investigation and education. The Torald Sollmann Award was presented biennially in odd numbered years at the award ceremony during the ASPET Annual Meeting for significant contributions over many years to the advancement and extension of knowledge in the field of pharmacology.  This award was given from 1961 to 2015 and was discontinued in 2016.

1961 Otto Krayer
1963 Bernard B. Brodie
1966 Arnold D. Welch
1969 Earl W. Sutherland, Jr.
1973 Julius Axelrod
1975 Sidney Udenfriend
1978 Karl H. Beyer, Jr.
1981 Avram Goldstein
1984 K. K. Chen
1986 Walter F. Riker
1988 James A. Bain
1990 George B. Koelle


1992 E. Leong Way
1995 Theodore M. Brody
1997 Alfred G. Gilman
1999 William W. Fleming
2001 Benedict Lucchesi
2003 Palmer W. Taylor
2005 Kenneth E. Moore
2007 Sue P. Duckles
2009 S. J. Enna
2011 Marcus M. Reidenberg
2013 William L. Dewey
2015 James E. Barrett

Theodore Weicker Memorial Award

The Theodore Weicker Memorial Award in Pharmacology  and Therapeutics was established by the trustees of the Theodore and Elizabeth Weicker Foundation to honor Theodore Weicker for his advancement of materia medica and the practice of medicine.  This award was given from 1978 to 1982 and was discontinued in 1984.

1978 - Ernest Bueding
1979 - Thomas H. Maren
1981 - John J. Burns
1982 - Theodore W. Rall

Job Postings