-Member Login


Let's Stay Connected

Find us on the popular social networks

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flicker

Division for Drug Metabolism and Disposition Early Career Achievement Award

Award Description | Presentation | Nomination Criteria and Process | Nomination Submission | Nomination Deadline | Prior Recipients 

Award Description 

The ASPET Division for Drug Metabolism and Disposition Early Career Achievement Award has been established to recognize excellent original research by early career investigators in the area of drug metabolism and disposition.


The award is presented biennially in odd-numbered years. The award consists of:

  • An invitation to deliver a lecture at the annual meeting describing his/her relevant research accomplishments
  • An invitation to publish a review article on the subject matter of the award lecture in Drug Metabolism and Disposition 
  • A $1,000 honorarium
  • A commemorative plaque
  • Complimentary registration plus travel expenses (to a maximum of $1,000) for the winner to attend the awards ceremony at the annual meeting.

Nomination Criteria and Process

  • Nominees for this award must have a doctoral degree (e.g., PhD, MD, PharmD, DVM) and must be within 15 years of having received their final degree, as of December 31 of the year of the award.
  • There are no restrictions on institutional affiliation, and a candidate need not be a member of ASPET.
  • There is a requirement for two nominators, although more are acceptable. Nominators must be members of ASPET.
  • An individual cannot nominate more than one candidate per award cycle.
  • Candidates who have made their research contributions in any sector (e.g., academia, industry, government) of the drug metabolism community may be nominated for the award.
  • The primary criterion for the award is the level of excellence and originality of the research conducted by the candidate in the field of drug metabolism and disposition. Independence of thought, originality of approach, clarity of communication, and the impact of the work on the drug metabolism field are important considerations.
  • Candidates shall not be judged in comparison with the work of more experienced investigators.

Selection will be made by the Executive Committee of the Division for Drug Metabolism.

Nomination Submission

Nominations shall be submitted using the ASPET Submission Portal (log in using the Member Login box on the left) and shall consist of:

  1. The candidate's curriculum vitae and publication list (to be uploaded as a PDF).
  2. A brief biographical summary of the candidate and of his/her work (up to 200 words max)
  3. The five most significant published papers authored by the candidate (to be uploaded as separate PDF documents). A detailed examination of these publications will form a primary basis for evaluation.
  4. Two letters of nomination and support from ASPET members (up to 1000 words each, to be uploaded as separate PDF documents).
  5. Additional letters of nomination and support from ASPET members are allowed but not required. Any additional letters of support should be combined into a single PDF for uploading.
  6. A summary (limited to two pages, to be uploaded as a PDF) that describes the importance of the candidate's research contributions. This summary must include brief statements regarding the candidate's role in the five published papers and the overall significance and impact of the work. 

Nomination Deadline

Nominations for this award will be accepted starting in the summer of 2018.

Award Recipients

2007 Qiang Ma
2009 Wen Xie
2011 Emily E. Scott
2013 Nina Isoherranen
2015 Namandjé N. Bumpus
2017 Hyunyoung (Young) Jeong

Last updated: June 20, 2017  

Right Rail DM 

Division Goals


  • To serve members with interests in all aspects of metabolism enzymes.
  • To suggest programming in this field for the Experimental Biology Meetings.
  • To select the James R. Gillette Best Paper Awards from the ASPET Journal Drug Metabolism and Disposition, the B. B. Brodie Award in Drug Metabolism (presented in even numbered years), and the Early Career Achievement Award (presented in odd numbered years).