In This Section

News Detail

Congratulations to ASPET Members Who Have Been Elected as 2018 AAAS Fellows

December 03, 2018

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) recognizes leading scientists for their extraordinary achievements in advancing science each year through their annual Fellows program.  This long-standing program has been honoring distinguished scientists, including multiple Nobel Laureates, since 1874. This year’s honorees include the following ASPET members:

Michael Kuhar
Michael J. Kuhar
, Emory University
Section on Biological Sciences
Andrea Hohmann
Andrea G. Hohmann
, Indiana University
Section on Neuroscience
Isaac Pessah
Isaac Ness Pessah
, University of California, Davis
Section on Medical Sciences
Michael Rogawski
Michael Andrew Rogawski
, University of California, Davis
Section on Neuroscience
Jonathan Cohen
Jonathan Brewer Cohen,
Harvard Medical School
Section on Neuroscience
Kathleen Meier
Kathryn Elaine Meier,
Washington State University
Section on Pharmaceutical Sciences 
Margaret Gnegy
Margaret E. Gnegy,
Michigan Medicine
Section on Neuroscience
John Nitiss
John L. Nitiss,
University of Illinois at Chicago
Section on Neuroscience

Congratulations to our members who were selected for their significant accomplishments that include pioneering research, leadership within their field, teaching and mentoring, fostering collaborations, and advancing public understanding of science.  The Fellows will be recognized at the 2019 AAAS Annual Meeting on February 16 in Washington, D.C.

To learn more about this year’s honorees, visit

Related Files:
  • Members in the News
  • Latest ASPET News

Job Postings