In This Section

Looking to the Future of Behavioral Pharmacology

Monday April 23, 2018

3:30 pm - 6:00 pm Eastern Time (ET)

Room 16A


Chair :

Emily Jutkiewicz
University of Michigan Medical School

Rajeev Desai
Harvard Medical School, McLean Hospital

This symposium celebrates the future of the Behavioral Pharmacology Division within ASPET. Some winners from the Division for Behavioral Pharmacology Poster Competition over the past 10 years will present research from their own independent laboratories, highlighting the transition from trainee to independent scientist. These presentations will focus on the new and upcoming areas of research and scientific exploration in the field of behavioral pharmacology and its application to the development of new therapeutics. Speakers are comprised of behavioral pharmacologists working at different types of academic institutions and in industry.


Rajeev Desai - Harvard Medical School, McLean Hospital


Kevin Murnane - Mercer University College of Pharmacy

New Therapies for Alcohol-use Disorder

Susan Wood - University of South Carolina School of Medicine

Neuroinflammatory Targets to Promote Stress Resilience

Catherine Davis - Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Radiation-induced Deficits in Sustained Attention and Memory

Brian Kangas - McLean Hospital, Harvard Medical School

Touchscreen Technology in the Development of Improved Preclinical Models

Michelle Baladi - Jazz Pharmaceuticals

Evaluation of the Wake-Promoting Effects of JZP-110: A Dopamine and Norepinephrine Reuptake Inhibitor

Michael Nader - Wake Forest School of Medicine

Summary and Discussion