In This Section

Division for Pharmacology Education Inducts Three New Fellows into the Academy of Pharmacology Educators

May 11, 2016

Division for Pharmacology Education Inducts Three New Fellows into the Academy of Pharmacology Educators

The Academy of Pharmacology Educators was established in 2010 in order to recognize individuals who have made exemplary contributions to pharmacology education in one or more of the following areas: student-teacher interaction, innovative contributions, scholarly endeavors, professional development and service. Three new members were inducted into the Academy during the Annual Meeting of the Division for Pharmacology Education at EB 2016.  More information about the Academy, including application instructions and a roster of inductees, can be found on the Academy's page.

2016 DPE Academy Inductees 

A. Laurel Gorman, Nicole C. Kwiek, and Thomas C. Westfall (not pictured) are inducted into the Academy of Pharmacology Educators

The first 2016 Academy inductee is A. Laurel Gorman, PhD.  Dr. Gorman received her BS in Interdisciplinary Studies (Neurosciences) from the University of Florida and her PhD in pharmacology from LSU Medical School.  After completing post-doctoral research at Weill Cornell Medical College and the University of Miami School of Medicine, she joined the faculty at Nova Southeastern University. In 2009, she became part of the Founding Faculty for the University of Central Florida College of Medicine.  In her 19 plus years of teaching, she has taught most topics in pharmacology to medical, dental and optometry students and also to allied health undergraduates in both small classrooms and large, lecture-style classes. She received a Travel Award from ASPET'S Division for Pharmacology Education in 2013 and is currently serving on the Executive Committee of DPE. She has received multiple teaching awards for her excellence and creativity in teaching. Her medical education research interests include the use of simulations, innovative and blended learning teaching techniques, and curriculum development and assessment, all in the context of pharmacology education.

The second 2016 Academy inductee is Nicole C. Kwiek, PhD.  Dr. Kwiek is clinical assistant professor and director of undergraduate studies at the Ohio State University College of Pharmacy.  She received her BS in bochemistry from Ohio State, a PhD in pharmacology from Duke University, followed by a postdoctoral fellowship at the Duke Center for Science Education. Since joining the OSU faculty, she has received the BS Pharmaceutical Sciences Distinguished Teaching Award three times. She currently co-directs the Generation Rx Initiative, a learning community of Ohio State faculty, staff and students studying the problem of prescription drug abuse. This project, designed to prevent misuse and abuse of prescription medication, provides on-line educational materials and hands-on learning at the Ohio State University's COSI (Center of Science and Industry), She has developed and taught MOOCs on pharmacology-related topics through Coursera and iTunesU.  Dr. Kwiek is the lead administrator and teacher of Ohio State University's College of Pharmacy's Pills, Potions, and Poisons science enrichment program for high school students.

The third 2016 Academy inductee is Thomas C. Westfall, PhD.  Dr.  Westfall is the William Beaumont Professor and Chair Emeritus of the department of pharmacology and physiology at St. Louis University School of Medicine. He received his PhD from West Virginia University.  Dr. Westfall has been actively teaching pharmacology to medical students and other health care professions' students for over 52 years as part of the faculty at universities in Missouri, West Virginia, and Virginia. He has been a PhD supervisor for 27 PhD students, a post-doctoral mentor for 17 fellows, and has served on over 100 prelim or thesis committees for PhD or MD/PhD students.  Dr. Westfall has been honored with multiple teaching awards at St. Louis University. He has authored or co-authored chapters in multiple pharmacology textbooks, particularly chapters related to autonomic pharmacology or neuropharmacology.  He has served on multiple ASPET committees and in leadership roles, including Chair of the Division for Neuropharmacology (1991-1993).  He was recognized in 2015 for having been an ASPET member for 50 years.  His successful research career consisted of more than 28 NIH grants, with more than $12 million in funding and a total of 103 years of support. During his 34 years as chair of the Department of Pharmacological and Physiological Science at St. Louis University School of Medicine, Dr. Westfall hired and mentored many junior faculty and was the principal investigator on two NIH T32 training grants.

The Division for Pharmacology Education considers it a privilege to add these three educator scholars to the roster of the Academy of Pharmacology Educators and is greatly appreciative of the many contributions made by these three individuals.

Last updated: May 11, 2016 

Related Files:
  • DPE Division
Last Updated: March 27, 2019

Job Postings