Job Postings

Let's Stay Connected

Find us on the popular social networks

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flicker

Otto Krayer Award in Pharmacology

SSA Awards Banner 

Krayer O Award Description | Presentation | Nomination Criteria and Process | Nomination Submission | Nomination Deadline | Prior Recipients | Donate to this Award 

Award Description

The Otto Krayer Award in Pharmacology is given biennially in even years to commemorate the enduring legacy of Otto Krayer's personal qualities: his ethical behavior, his commitment to teaching, his high standards of scientific scholarship, publication and editorship, his promotion of interdisciplinary research to reveal the actions of drugs or other chemicals, and his guidance and support of younger scientists. The purpose of the award is to recognize an individual whose character and career contributions to pharmacology are in accord with those exemplified by Otto Krayer.

This award was originally established in 1985, suspended in 2003, and became active again with a presentation at the 2017 ASPET Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology. Thereafter the Krayer Award will be presented biennially in even numbered years starting in 2018. The suspension of the award was due to limited financial support and its return was made possible by a generous gift to ASPET. Additional donations made in memory of Dr. Otto Krayer will help ensure the long-term financial stability of the award.

More information on Otto Krayer.  


The award is presented biennially, in even numbered years, at the award ceremony during the ASPET Annual Meeting. The award consists of:

  • A $2,500 honorarium
  • A commemorative plaque
  • Complimentary registration and travel expenses for the winner and spouse to attend the ASPET Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology
  • The awardee may be invited to deliver a lecture at the ASPET Annual Meeting at Experimental Biology

Nomination Criteria and Process

  • The candidate must be a member of ASPET
  • The nomination must be made by an ASPET member
  • No candidate may be nominated for more than one major ASPET award in any given year
  • Selection will be made by the ASPET Awards Committee, appointed by the President of ASPET

Nomination Submission

Nominations shall be submitted using the ASPET Awards Portal by logging into the blue box on the right. The nominations shall consist of:

  1. The candidate's curriculum vitae and bibliography in PDF.
  2. A brief biographical sketch of the candidate (in up to 200 words.)
  3. Six published articles and/or manuscripts that have been accepted for publication that have direct bearing on this award. Each document should be provided as a separate PDF.
  4. Letter of nomination that includes a summary that details the importance of the candidate's work (in a PDF up to 1000 words.)

Nomination Deadline

Award nominations for the 2018 Krayer Award are due by Friday, September 15, 2017.

Recipients of the Otto Krayer Award in Pharmacology

1985 Norman Weiner   1995 David J. Triggle
1986 William W. Fleming   1996 Edson X. Albuquerque
1987 John R. Blinks   1997 John C. McGiff
1988 Thomas F. Burks   1998 Theodore Slotkin
1989 Edwin E. Daniel   1999 Horace Loh
1990 Michael J. Brody   2000 Toshio Narahashi
1991 Salomon Z. Langer   2001 Erik De Clercq
1992 Michael J. Kuhar   2002 Alan C. Sartorelli
1993 Arnold Schwartz   2003-2016 Award Suspended 
1994 Irving H. Goldberg   2017 Joan Heller Brown


Last updated: June 20, 2017


Use your
ASPET Member Login

Forgot your Username
or Password?