-Member Login


Let's Stay Connected

Find us on the popular social networks

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Flicker

P.B. Dews Lifetime Achievement Award for Research in Behavioral Pharmacology

P.B. DewsASPET’s Division of Behavioral Pharmacology sponsors the P. B. Dews Award for Research in Behavioral Pharmacology to recognize outstanding lifetime achievements in research, teaching, and professional service in the field of Behavioral Pharmacology and to honor Peter Dews for his seminal contributions to the development of behavioral pharmacology as a discipline. The biennial award is supported by an endowment made possible by contributions from Aventis, Centre de Recherche Pierre Fabre, Eli Lilly, Harvard University, International Life Sciences Institute Caffeine Committee, Merck (San Diego), Pepsi Cola Company, Pfizer Central Research and Pfizer Global Research and Development, Pharmacia, Wyeth Research, and ASPET members.

Read more about P.B. Dews here.

Contributions to the endowment fund are also welcome.

The Award consists of $1,000, a plaque, and partial travel expenses to the award ceremony at the ASPET Annual Meeting. The recipient will be invited by the Chair of the Division of Behavioral Pharmacology to deliver a special lecture on this occasion. The lecture will be published subsequently in an appropriate ASPET-sponsored publication.

There are no restrictions on nominees for this award. Nominations must be made by members of ASPET. Selection will be made by the P.B. Dews Award Committee, appointed by the President of ASPET with input from the Division for Behavioral Pharmacology.

Nominations shall be submitted using the ASPET Awards Portal (please log in to the awards portal using the blue box on the right) and shall consist of:

  1. Description of the candidate’s major contributions, including scientific, teaching, and professional achievements.
  2. Candidate’s curriculum vitae and bibliography.
  3. List of the candidate’s trainees.
  4. Six major publications provided as separate PDFs. 
  5. Brief biographical summary of the candidate and his/her work (up to 300 words max).

Nomination Deadline

Nominations for the P.B. Dews Award are due by Tuesday, September 15, 2015

Contribute to the P.B. Dews Lifetime Achievement Award for Research in Behavioral Pharmacology.


Previous Recipients of the P. B. Dews Award in Behavioral Pharmacology

P.B. Dews Award Committee

  • Robert L. Balster, Chair
  • Lisa Gerak
  • Carol A. Paronis 
  • Jeffrey M. Witkin

Last updated: March 3, 2017 

Right Rail BEH 

Division Goals


  • To be the primary resource within ASPET for expertise in the investigation of drug effects on behavior.

  • To foster scholarship and discuss recent innovations in behavioral pharmacology, including research and publication.

  • To meet annually to share information and to discuss issues that are important to behavioral pharmacology.

  • To promote and enhance the scientific development of students and postdoctoral fellows in the Behavioral Pharmacology Division of ASPET.

  • To strengthen the role and to increase the collective voice of behavioral pharmacology in ASPET.

  • To foster linkages between the Behavioral Pharmacology Division and other divisions of ASPET and with other FASEB societies.